South Thames Deanery Map

Foundation Programme (FP)

South Thames includes hospitals in southern London, Kent, Surrey and Sussex (KSS). South Thames is part of London and KSS (Kent, Surrey and Sussex) Foundation Schools Health Education England.

South Thames is divided into five groups with the intention of the foundation school next year splitting into South London and KSS (full group details can be found in the South Thames Foundation School website):

  1. South London East – St Thomas’, Guy’s, Queen Elizabeth – Woolwich, King’s, Lewisham, Princess Royal – Orpington 
  2. South London West – St George’s, Croydon, Kingston, St Helier, Epsom
  3. KSS Central – St Richard’s, Worthing, Royal Sussex, Princess Royal – Hayward’s Heath, Eastbourne, Conquest
  4. KSS East – Tunbridge Wells, Maidstone, Darrent Valley, Medway Maritime, William Harvey, Kent and Canterbury, Queen Elizabeth Queen Mother
  5. KSS West – Ashford, St Peter’s, Frimley Park, Royal Surrey County, East Surrey

Specialised/Academic Foundation Programme (SFP/AFP)

South Thames does not have a separate Academic Foundation Programme but it is shared with North Central and East London and North West London. Instead, an application is made to ‘LaKSS’ managed by London and KSS Foundation Schools Health Education England.

Applicants complete a 4-month academic post in their F2 year.

Hospitals in South Thames Foundation School

Frimley Health Foundation Trust manages both Frimley Park Hospital and Wexham Park Hospital but only Frimley Park Hospital is part of South Thames deanery.

Croydon University Hospital

Guy’s Hospital

King’s College Hospital

Kingston Hospital

Princess Royal University Hospital

Queen Elizabeth Hospital – Woolwich

St Helier Hospital

St George’s Hospital

St Thomas’ Hospital

University Hospital Lewisham

Conquest Hospital

Eastbourne District General Hospital

Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother Hospital

Royal Sussex County Hospital

Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital – Brighton

St Richard’s Hospital

Worthing Hospital

Ashford Hospital

Darent Valley Hospital

East Surrey Hospital

Epsom Hospital

Frimley Park Hospital

Kent and Canterbury Hospital

Maidstone Hospital

Medway Maritime Hospital

Princess Royal Hospital – Hayward’s Heath

Royal Surrey County Hospital

St Peter’s Hospital

Tunbridge Wells Hospital at Pembury

William Harvey Hospital

    Scroll to Top